Charlevoix

Charlevoix is the birthplace of high-end holiday living in Québec. With the mighty river on one side and great mountains all over, Charlevoix is blessed with a quality of light and landscapes that have earned special recognition in the World Biosphere Reserves.

It is said that the blast of a meteorite that fell to earth 350 million years ago may have had something to do with the creative energy found in Charlevoix.

Charlevoix is also renowned among lovers of fine food and exquisite gastronomy. All along the Charlevoix Flavor Trail (Route des Saveurs) and in the kitchens of small bistros and great restaurants, chefs and producers apply their great talents to the bountiful and varied products found in the region.

Charlevoix is also an amazing playground. With its two national parks, it ranks pretty high among lovers of the outdoors and thrill-seekers. Let us count the ways: a boat outing for whale watching; the discovery of some of the most beautiful villages in Canada aboard a shuttle train; a leisurely visit to the epicurean and charming Isle aux-Coudres; sailing on the St. Lawrence River or white-water kayaking on one of the rivers; exploring cliff sides on a via ferrata; sledding on a 7.5 km course; skiing Le Massif de Charlevoix which offers Canada’s highest vertical drop east of the Rockies. Any pretext is fine to discover a facet of the joie de vivre found in Charlevoix.

Charlevoix

Charlevoix est le berceau de la villégiature haut de gamme au Québec. Entre fleuve et montagne, Charlevoix est un pays de lumière dont la beauté des paysages lui vaut de se classer parmi les Réserves mondiales de la Biosphère.

On dit que l’énergie créatrice de Charlevoix ne serait pas étrangère à la chute d’une
météorite il y a 350 millions d’années.

Charlevoix, c’est aussi le pays de la bonne chère et de la haute gastronomie. Sur la Route des saveurs de Charlevoix comme dans les cuisines de nos petits bistros et grands restaurants, chefs et producteurs jonglent avec brio avec un terroir d’une diversité et d’une qualité incomparable.

Charlevoix, c’est aussi un incroyable terrain de jeux tout azimuts. Avec ses deux parcs nationaux, c’est le paradis des amateurs de plein air et de sensations. Envie d’une croisière aux baleines ? De découvrir les villages côtiers – dont plusieurs se classent parmi les plus beaux villages au Canada – à bord d’une navette ferroviaire ? Envie de faire un saut sur l’épicurienne et chantante Isle-aux-Coudres ; de naviguer le fleuve Saint-Laurent ou de descendre les eaux vives d’une rivière en kayak ; d’arpenter les parois d’une via ferrata ; de s’offrir une descente en luge sur 7,5 km ou de skier le plus haut dénivelé à l’est des Rocheuses canadiennes, Le Massif de Charlevoix ? Toutes les façons sont bonnes de découvrir la joie de vivre en Charlevoix.